Avengers: Helicarrier Improvements

Jetblast190, a fellow toy box creator and YouTuber, contacted me again, this time to share some screen grabs of improvements that he had made to my SHIELD helicarrier, which I recently built in episode 25 my Age of Ultron series

He is still using the Kyln style for the terrain blocks, and has not updated it yet per Clinton’s suggestion to use the Hero’s Duty terrain customization power disc, but it still looks really good. I’ll let him describe his changes in his own words:

“I’ve been following and building Professor Toybox’s Age of Ultron toy box series (great series!) and recently completed the Helicarrier build for the Sokovia toy box. I play on an Xbox One and placing the Droid Factory Rotating Blades turned out to be a little more difficult than what he demonstrated on his WiiU. Using a single replayer didn’t work for me, nor did using two. I had to use 3 replayers to prevent them from disappearing when the game loads. I used one for the front two blades and a single replayer for each of the two back blades individually. This was the only way that I could achieve a stable build. I connected the Level Starter to a Logic Gate to replay the 3 replayers and a Button Casing (embedded into the Helicarrier conning tower) connected to a Logic Gate to clear the 3 replayers anytime I want to make changes and have to save the toy box. It looks quite natural and this way I don’t have to continuously clear the replayers individually.

I also added some wedge blocks themed to steel for the bow and underside of the Helicarrier as per the Professor’s recommendations. I used balcony blocks themed to hologram (I thought it looked cool) to create forward-looking main bridge windows and “Air Boss” windows overlooking the landing zone on the conning tower. I embedded them into the tower using the path tool and covered the tops and sides with small floor and tall wall blocks set to steel theme. Lastly, I added a Short Nomanisan Light to the top of the tower.

The next day, Jetblast190 contacted me again to share some additional changes:

“Still tinkering with the Helicarrier build a bit. I added Nomanisan wall pieces around the upper deck with balcony pieces placed underneath. I think it adds a little more visual interest, even from the distance of the city. I also changed the conning tower to all blocks themed to steel. I think they look a little better all the same texture.”

It’s so nice to see someone building one of my toy boxes and adding their own personal touches to it. I think his version looks really great! If I had the memory on my Wii U, I would make these same changes myself.

Leave a comment